Officers of the Montreal Conference


Chairman of the conference

Chief Justice Jules Deschens, Chief Justice of Quebec

Commissions of Montreal Conference

​Commission of International Judges
Chairs: Judge Oxner and Batonnier Pettiti

​Commission of National Judges
Chairs: Justice Gonthier and Professor Shimon Shetreet

​Commission of Lawyers
Chairs: Bttonier Louis Phillippe de Grandpre, and Debo Akande

​Commission of the Jury
Chairs: Chief Justice William Sinclair and Mr. James Parkison

​Commission of the Assessors
Chairs: Judge Guerin and Judge Poirier

Other Contributors of Papers in the conference

Mauro Cappelletti

Debo Akande

Marc-Andrg Ballard,

​Judge Jules Deschenes

Bttonier Louis Phillippe de Grandpre

​Judge Guerin

Justice Haese, 

Justice Gonthier

Professor Mark MácGuigan,

Lord Lane

​Judge Oxner

Mr. James Parkison


Judge Poirier

​Simone Rozes

Professor Shimon Shetreet

Manfred Simon
​William Sinclair

​L. M. Singhvi,

Sir Ninian Stephen

Back To Montreal Declaration 1983



Freyastrasse 21, 8004 Zürich



Tel: +41 (0) 43 322 10 43  

Fax: +41 (0) 43 322 10 48

  • facebook
  • w-googleplus
  • w-tbird

© 2018 by The International Association of Judicial Independence and World Peace